Northwest Community College

News & Events

Tuesday October 03, 2017

NCCC Announces New Team Success Scholars Cohort

WINSTED, CT - The Northwest Regional Workforce Investment Board generously committed $270,917 in WIOA (Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act) funds for the 2017-2018 academic year to sponsor Team Success Scholars, a college success program at Northwestern Connecticut Community College (NCCC). Northwest Community Bank, recognizing the value and success of this program, has generously donated $22,500 for five additional students to join the program.

Key elements of the cohort-modeled program include mentoring and internships, along with financial support to help students overcome challenges along the way. The program offers college and career exploration, obtainment of workplace recognized credentials, and support towards their associates degree and beyond. Upwards of 80% of students in the program graduate in 3 years, a substantially higher rate than the typical student. A majority of students choose to transfer on to 4-year universities.

Below are the first and second year cohorts with their majors and hometowns.

First Year Cohort

1.   Cassandra Albert, Engineering Science, Torrington
2.   Cydnee Cellupica, Pre Vet Tech, Thomaston
3.   Maegan Clark, Early Childhood Education, Torrington
4.   Shelby Cote, Liberal Arts and Sciences, Torrington
5.   Jacob Formeister, Liberal Arts and Sciences, Harwinton
6.   Sarah Kruse, Early Childhood Education, Norfolk
7.   Ayla LaForge, Early Childhood Education, Torrington
8.   Sage Levesque, Liberal Arts and Sciences, Torrington
9.   Allison Pangol, Pre-Nursing, Torrington
10. Cynthia Pitcher, Liberal Arts and Sciences, Torrington
11. Nathaniel Reynolds, Computer Science, Torrington
12. Sorceres Rivera-Tamarez, Liberal Arts and Sciences, Winsted
13. Camille Russo, Liberal Arts and Sciences, New Hartford
14. Katharine Seabury, Liberal Arts and Sciences, Sharon
15. Ian Severson, Chemistry, Winsted
16. Meghan Williams, Liberal Arts and Sciences, Torrington

Second Year Cohort

1.   James Altamirano, Criminal Justice, Canaan
2.   Sara Balsewicz, Criminal Justice, New Hartford
3.   Erika Borja, Liberal Arts and Sciences, Torrington
4.   Heather Damiani, Liberal Arts and Sciences, Litchfield
5.   Bryonna Ford-Bey, Business Administration, Torrington
6.   Nicholas Hill, Liberal Arts and Sciences, Canaan
7.   Johanna Idrovo, Liberal Arts and Sciences, Torrington
8.   Andrew Kalogiannis, Business Administration, Sharon
9.   Briana Kratzer, Environmental Science/Criminal Justice, Torrington
10. Madison Maroney, Veterinary Technology, West Granby
11. Stephanie Pimentel, Liberal Arts and Sciences, Torrington
12. Chennel Rivera, Liberal Arts and Sciences, Naugatuck
13. Victor Rosario, Liberal Arts and Sciences, Torrington
14. Sierra Tillman, Liberal Arts and Sciences, Torrington
15. Jared Tuers, Criminal Justice, Torrington

The Northwest Regional Workforce Investment Board (NRWIB) seeks to develop and sustain an effective labor market system that facilitates economic development and business growth in our region. WIOA youth funds are targeted for young people who are both in and out of school to assist them in their career and educational development.  These funds are allocated to the states by the US Department of Labor. 

Northwest Community Bank is a mutually owned state-chartered bank, headquartered in Winsted, Connecticut since 1860. In addition to Winsted’s Main Office, the bank has branches in Avon, Granby, New Hartford, and Torrington; and an academic branch at Northwestern Regional #7 High School in Winsted.

For more information please contact Susan Dichter, Program Director, Team Success Scholars or Laura McCarthy, Director of Academic Success Center