October 15, 2019 Grantley Adams

WINSTED, CT – October 15, 2019  The Northwest Regional Workforce Investment Board generously committed $281,197 in WIOA (Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act) funds for the 2019-2020 academic year to sponsor Team Success Scholars, a college success program at Northwestern Connecticut Community College (NCCC). The program helps young adults between the ages of 18 and 24 to achieve their educational and career goals. In its sixteenth year at NCCC, the program has brought in over $2.2 million in grant funds to the college. Northwest Community Bank, recognizing the value and success of the program, continues to support five returning students, donating $1,500 per year per student.

Key elements of the cohort-modeled program include mentoring and internships, along with financial support to help students overcome challenges encountered along the way. Spearheading the cohort model includes an overnight camping trip before classes start, engaging in team-building challenges and leadership activities. The program offers college and career exploration, obtainment of workplace recognized credentials, and support towards their associate’s degree and beyond. Upwards of 80% of students graduate within 3 years, a substantially higher rate than the typical student. The majority will transfer on to 4-year universities.

Below are the first- and second-year cohorts with their majors and hometowns.

First Year Cohort

  1. Evan Cole, General Studies, Winsted
  2. Kit Fitch, Engineering Science, West Cornwall
  3. Brianna Hamel, Psychology Studies, New Hartford
  4. Elijah Lovejoy, Liberal Arts and Science, New Hartford
  5. William Lovejoy, Art Studies, New Hartford
  6. Inez Ortiz, Liberal Arts and Science, Torrington
  7. Peter Pavlidis, Computer Systems Technology, Torrington
  8. Erin Sullivan, Liberal Arts and Science, New Hartford

Second Year Cohort

  1. Madeline Boutot, Pre-Nursing/Allied Health, West Hartland
  2. Laysa Camilo DeLeon, Allied Health, Torrington
  3. Brianna DeFrancesco, Early Childhood Education, Torrington
  4. Leah Frazier, Criminal Justice, Torrington
  5. Tommy Le, Technology Studies, Torrington
  6. Julianne Little, General Studies/Early Childhood Education, Riverton
  7. Melissa Mallem, Psychology Studies, Kent
  8. Isabella Martinez, Business & Management Administration, Winsted
  9. Cristina Peguero, Medical Assisting, Torrington
  10. Kirsy Perez Goris, Pre-Nursing/Allied Health, Torrington
  11. Nicole Rogers, General Studies, Torrington
  12. Gemilssy Romero, Liberal Arts and Science, Torrington
  13. Indigo Summa, Medical Assisting, Torrington
  14. Tyrik Wright, Medical Assisting, Torrington
  15. Shelby Cote, General Studies, Torrington
  16. Maegan Clark, Early Childhood Education, Torrington
  17. Sarah Kruse, Early Childhood Education, Norfolk
  18. Cynthia Pitcher, Biology, Torrington
  19. Katharine Seabury, Liberal Arts and Science, Sharon
  20. Ian Severson, Liberal Arts and Science, Winsted

The Northwest Regional Workforce Investment Board (NRWIB) seeks to develop and sustain an effective labor market system that facilitates economic development and business growth in our region. WIOA youth funds are targeted for young people who are both in and out of school to assist them in their career and educational development.  These funds are allocated to the states by the US Department of Labor.

Northwest Community Bank is a mutually owned state-chartered bank, headquartered in Winsted, Connecticut since 1860. In addition to Winsted’s Main Office, the bank has branches in Avon, Granby, New Hartford, and Torrington; and an academic branch at Northwestern Regional #7 High School in Winsted.

For more information please contact Susan Dichter, Program Director, Team Success Scholars sdichter@nwcc.edu.