Clubs & Organizations

There is never a lack of opportunities to get involved at Northwestern Connecticut Community College! All of NCCC’s clubs and organizations look forward to welcoming new students. And with a variety of them to choose from – all representing a diversity of student interests – you’re sure to find a group for you. If not, you can always start your own club at NCCC – all ideas are welcome!

Learn how to start a new club or organization here.

Important Club Forms & Procedures

AAUW of NCCC

American Association of University Women (AAUW) – To Promote equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy, and research. To Further the goal of breaking through educational and economic barriers so that all women and girls have a fair chance. To Empower all women and girls to reach their highest potential.

Advisors: Susan Dichter, 860.738.6335, sdichter@nwcc.edu, Deb Zavatkay, 860.738.6309, dzavatkay@nwcc.edu,

Christian Students Association

“The Outlet” promotes efforts to meet the needs of the community, including college students, to further individual spiritual growth by offering opportunities for fellowship through Bible studies and various events.

Advisor: Cheryl Braman, 860-738-6320, cbraman@nwcc.edu

Creative Collective

This group promotes the appreciation and practice of all forms of art within our own membership and the surrounding communities.

Advisor: Janet Nesteruk, 860.738.6384, jnesteruk@nwcc.edu

Criminal Justice Association

This group promotes the Criminal Justice Program at NCCC through speakers, programs and scholarship.

Advisor: Michael Emanuel, 860.738.6389 memanuel@nwcc.edu
Meets Tuesdays from 4:15pm to 5:15pm in FH202

Dungeons and Dragons Club

This group promotes the wellbeing of our members and uses role-playing as a healthy emotional outlet and to help further members’ understanding of themselves and others.

Advisor: Doug Mooney, 860.738.6401, dmooney@nwcc.edu
Meets Mondays & Wednesday from 6:30pm to 9:30pm in GW116

Early Childhood Education Association

This group promotes the well-being of children and families. Through activities, meetings and fund-raising efforts, connections are built between NCCC students, children, families and the surrounding community.

Advisor: Michele Better, 860.738.6305, mbetter@nwcc.edu
Meets Tuesdays from 4:15 to 5:00pm in FH 207

Heart of Autism Club

The Autism Awareness Club’s purpose is to spread awareness and sensibility of the Autism Spectrum Disorder.

Advisor: Deneen Huddart, 860.738,6318, dhuddart@nwcc.edu

History Association

This group promotes an appreciation of the historical past through shared discovery. It furthers historical knowledge and advances critical thought.

Advisor: Todd Bryda, 860.738.6302, tbryda@nwcc.edu
Meets Mondays from 3:00pm-4:30pm in FH 306.

Health Professions Club

This group offers meetings and social gatherings to bring together those people interested in health and health-related careers.

Advisor: Jane O’Grady, 860.738.6393, jogrady@nwcc.edu

Hula Hoop Club 

For more information contact

Advisor: Karen Hunter, 860.738.6402, khunter@nwcc.edu

LGBT+ Club 

This group strives to strengthen and sustain a welcoming and inclusive community for all NCCC students and provide resources on LGBT+ community.

Advisor: Ruth Gonzalez, 860.738-6315, rgonzalez@nwcc.edu

Men in Nursing

The mission of this student organization is to foster nursing education, facilitate unity among our future colleagues, classmates and leaders in nursing.

Advisor: Pam Rose, 860.738.6377, drose@nwcc.edu

Northwest Deaf Club

This group brings together deaf and hard-of-hearing students, as well as students of American Sign Language for cultural, social and recreational activities.

Advisor: Maureen Chalmers, 860.738.6396, mchalmers@nwcc.edu
Meets Tuesday 4:00pm to 4:55pm in GW 101

NCCC Student Nurses Association

This group promotes accountable, compassionate and skilled graduates that can continually advance the art and science of the nursing profession.

Advisor: Joanna Cyr, 860-738-6421. Jcyr@nwcc.edu

NCCC National Association of Veterinary Technician in America (NAVTA)

NAVTA promotes educational and social activities for Veterinary Technology students, furthering their knowledge and involvement with animals within our community and beyond.

Advisor:  Kat Smith, 860.738.6428, ksmith1@nwcc.edu

Northwestern Book Nerds

The Northwestern Book Nerds objective is to promote literacy in a college setting  and spreading awareness  of reading books with a disability.

Advisor: Jeremy Withnell, 860-738-6478, jwithnell@nwcc.edu

Northwestern Business Club

The Northwestern Business Club promotes organizational leadership to students looking to master professional life-long learning attributes and the further the building of an environment of collaboration, teamwork, and collegiality. Students in this club encourage an environment that promotes the development of skills in communication, leadership and networking.

Advisor: Stacey Williams, 860-738-6427, swilliams@nwcc.edu

Outdoor Adventure Club

This club promotes health living and exercise through fund outdoor excursions such as hiking, mountain climbing, and kayaking.

Advisors: Melissa Bettigole, MBettigole@nwcc.edu

Phi Theta Kappa/Alpha Nu Epsilon Chapter

This group provides opportunities for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for the exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence. Membership is extended by invitation to all students who are enrolled in an Associate Degree Program, have accumulated 12 credits, have a 3.45 grade point average and who are of good moral character and possess recognized qualities of citizenship.

Advisors: Crystal Wiggins, 860.738.6310, cwiggins@nwcc.edu and Todd Bryda, 860.738.6302, tbryda@nwcc.edu

Spanish Club

The purpose of this club is to educate NCCC and its community about Latin culture, to participate in cultural activities and to promote community service.

Advisor: Jessica Treat, 860.738.6340, jtreat@nwcc.edu

Student Government

The Student Senate serves as the governing body representing NCCC students for the purpose of promoting the general welfare of the student body, to stimulate interest in activities contributing to our improvement and to provide every student with experience in democratic government.

Advisor: Andrew Wetmore, 860.738.6344, awetmore@nwcc.edu

The Writers Club

This group strives to promote free thinking, writing and campus unity by providing information throughout campus and to encouraging campus participation and writing.

Advisor: Seth Kershner, 860.738.6481, skershner@nwcc.edu

 

Get involved!
Contact the Student Activities Office at 860.738.6343 for more information, or email at awetmore@nwcc.edu!