October 5, 2021 Duc Tinh

WINSTED, CT– October 5, 2021 – The Northwest Regional Workforce Investment Board has generously committed $192,856 in WIOA (Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act) funds for the 2021-2022 academic year to sponsor Team Success Scholars, a college success program at Northwestern Connecticut Community College (NCCC). The program helps young adults between the ages of 18 and 24 to achieve their educational and career goals. In its eighteenth year at NCCC, the program has brought in over $2.7 million in grant funds to the college. Northwest Community Bank, recognizing the value and success of the program, continues to support five students, donating $10,000 per year to the program. The Greenwoods Scholarship Foundation has additionally donated $5,000 to support two students in a spin-off peer mentoring program called Peer2Peer.

Key elements of the cohort-modeled program include mentoring and internships, along with financial support to help students overcome challenges encountered along the way. An overnight camping trip before classes start engages students in team-building challenges and leadership activities. The program offers college and career exploration, obtainment of workplace recognized credentials, and support towards their Associate Degree and beyond. Upwards of 80% of students graduate within 3 years, a substantially higher rate than the typical student. The majority will transfer on to 4-year universities.

Below are the first- and second-year cohorts with their majors and hometowns.

First Year Cohort

1.     Thomas Busemeyer, Liberal Arts and Science, New Hartford
2.     Madeline Colasanto, Medical Assisting, Burlington
3.     Alexis Galgano, CSCU Transfer: Biology Studies, Canaan
4.     Sarah Haynes, General Studies, Winsted
5.     Jaiden Hepburn, Liberal Arts and Science, Colebrook
6.     Mila Markovich, Human Services, Colebrook
7.     Mackenzie Muzzulin, General Studies/Pre-Nursing, Norfolk
8.     Nathaniel Northup, Liberal Arts and Science, Winsted
9.     Grace Urban, CSCU Transfer: Biology Studies, Harwinton

Second Year Cohort

10.  Tyler Carr, Liberal Arts and Science, Goshen
11.  Kaitlin DeFrancesco, General Studies, Torrington
12.  Andrew Dombroski, Business and Management Administration, Torrington
13.  John Ellis, Technology Studies, Winsted
14.  Kit Fitch, Engineering Science, West Cornwall=
15.  Isabella Jacobs, Liberal Arts and Science, New Hartford
16.  Elijah Lovejoy, Liberal Arts and Science, New Hartford
17.  William Lovejoy, CSCU Transfer: Art Studies, New Hartford
18.  Lena Neri, Liberal Arts and Science, Thomaston
19.  Peter Pavlidis, General Studies, Torrington
20.  Cristina Peguero, Allied Health, Torrington
21.  Kirsy Perez Goris, Medical Assisting, Torrington
22.  Trevor Woolsey, General Studies, Harwinton
23.  Tyrik Wright, Medical Assisting, Torrington

The Northwest Regional Workforce Investment Board (NRWIB) seeks to develop and sustain an effective labor market system that facilitates economic development and business growth in our region. WIOA youth funds are targeted at young people who are out of school to assist them in their career and educational development. These funds are allocated to the states by the US Department of Labor.

Northwest Community Bank is a mutually owned state-chartered bank, headquartered in Winsted, Connecticut since 1860. In addition to Winsted’s Main Office, the bank has branches in Avon, Granby, New Hartford, and Torrington; and an academic branch at Northwestern Regional #7 High School in Winsted.

The Greenwoods Scholarship Foundation, incorporated in 1975 and serving the towns of Barkhamsted, Colebrook, Hartland, New Hartford, Norfolk and Winsted, awards scholarships and assistance to students on the basis of financial need, academic achievement, and personal potential.

For more information, please contact Susan Dichter, Program Director, Team Success Scholars sdichter@nwcc.edu.