January 28, 2022 Grantley Adams

WINSTED, CT – January 28, 2022 – Northwestern Connecticut Community College is pleased to announce its first cohort of STEM Scholars. The STEM Scholars program champions talented students who are pursuing degrees and careers in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics. The program is supported by a six-year, $750,000 National Science Foundation S-STEM grant (#2129896). The scholars receive support in the form of scholarships and mentoring, and are provided with opportunities to participate in research, internships, career exploration and conferences. Scholars may attend college full or part-time, and can receive sponsorship each year until they graduate.

The first cohort of scholars, their program of study and hometowns are listed below.

Deandra Batista, Biology, Torrington.

Brianna Boyajian, Biology, New Hartford

Ryan Briggs, Computer Programming, Torrington

Jairo R. Chimbo, Technology Studies, Torrington

Carissa Meiklem, Biology, Waterbury

Renee Dunbar, Biology, Winsted

Bettina Evans, Biology, Torrington

Kaylee Lada, Data Science and Mathematics, Waterbury

Daisy MacDonald, Biology, Newtown

Nicholas Sheltra, Biology, Falls Village

Morgan Yelsits, Biology, Norfolk

Applications for the second cohort of STEM Scholars will be opened in April. For more information on the STEM Scholars program, or earning your STEM degree at Northwestern Connecticut Community College, please contact Sharon Gusky, Professor of Biology at sgusky@nwcc.edu.